lost in a good book

Happy National Author’s Day!

Grateful thanks to all the authors whose books have kept me entertained, made me laugh, made me cry, made me think, allowed me to get lost in another time or another world or another way of thinking for more years than I am willing to put into print in the internet.


Here are some ideas to celebrate:

Write a review (or many)

Tell your friends about a book (or many)

Send a message or a note to an author (or many) telling them you like their books

Buy a book (or many)



Dragon Awards 2018

2018 Dragon Award Winners


Congratulations to all the winners!

Best Science Fiction Novel Artemis by Andy Weir

Best Fantasy Novel (Including Paranormal) Oathbringer by Brandon Sanderson

Best Young Adult / Middle Grade Novel Children of Blood and Bone by Tomi Adeyemi

Best Military Science Fiction or Fantasy Novel A Call to Vengeance by David M Weber, Timothy Zahn, and Thomas Pope

Best Alternate History Novel Uncharted by Kevin J. Anderson and Sarah A. Hoyt

Best Media Tie-In Novel Leia: Princess of Alderaan by Claudia Gray

Best Horror Novel Sleeping Beauties by Stephen King and Owen King

Best Comic Book Mighty Thor by Jason Aaron and James Harren, Marvel Comics

Best Graphic Novel Brandon Sanderson’s White Sand Volume 1 by Brandon Sanderson, Rik Hoskin, and Julius M. Gopez, Dynamite Entertainment

Best Science Fiction or Fantasy TV Series Game of Thrones, HBO

Best Science Fiction or Fantasy Movie Black Panther directed by Ryan Coogler

Best Science Fiction/Fantasy PC/Console Game Middle-earth: Shadow of War by Monolith Productions

Best Science Fiction or Fantasy Mobile Game Harry Potter: Hogwarts Mystery by Jam City

Best Science Fiction or Fantasy Board Game Red Dragon Inn 6: Villains by Slugfest Games

Best Science Fiction or Fantasy Miniatures / Collectible Card / Role-Playing Game Magic: The Gathering Unstable by Wizards of the Coast

The Hugo Awards 2018

2018 Hugo Awards Announced

Congratulations to all the winners!

The winners of the 2018 Hugo Awards, Award for Best Young Adult Book (hereafter the Lodestar Award), and John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer were announced at Worldcon 76 in San José, California on August 19, 2018.

Best Novel

The Stone Sky, by N.K. Jemisin (Orbit)

Best Novella

All Systems Red, by Martha Wells (Tor.com Publishing)

Best Novelette

“The Secret Life of Bots,” by Suzanne Palmer (Clarkesworld, September 2017)

Best Short Story

“Welcome to your Authentic Indian Experience™,” by Rebecca Roanhorse (Apex, August 2017)

Best Series

World of the Five Gods, by Lois McMaster Bujold (Harper Voyager / Spectrum Literary Agency)

Best Related Work

No Time to Spare: Thinking About What Matters, by Ursula K. Le Guin (Houghton Mifflin Harcourt)

Best Graphic Story

Monstress, Volume 2: The Blood, written by Marjorie M. Liu, illustrated by Sana Takeda (Image Comics)

Best Dramatic Presentation, Long Form

Wonder Woman, screenplay by Allan Heinberg, story by Zack Snyder & Allan Heinberg and Jason Fuchs, directed by Patty Jenkins (DC Films / Warner Brothers)

Best Dramatic Presentation, Short Form

The Good Place: “The Trolley Problem,” written by Josh Siegal and Dylan Morgan, directed by Dean Holland (Fremulon / 3 Arts Entertainment / Universal Television)

Best Editor, Short Form

Lynne M. Thomas & Michael Damian Thomas

Best Editor, Long Form

Sheila E. Gilbert

Best Professional Artist

Sana Takeda

Best SemiprozineUncanny Magazine, edited by Lynne M. Thomas & Michael Damian Thomas, Michi Trota, and Julia Rios; podcast produced by Erika Ensign & Steven Schapansky

Best FanzineFile 770, edited by Mike Glyer

Best Fancast

Ditch Diggers, presented by Mur Lafferty and Matt Wallace

Best Fan Writer

Sarah Gailey

Best Fan Artist

Geneva Benton


There are two other Awards administered by Worldcon 76 that are not Hugo Awards:

Award for Best Young Adult Book

Akata Warrior, by Nnedi Okorafor (Viking)

John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer

Rebecca Roanhorse


The Hugo Awards 2018

1943 Retro Hugo Awards Announced

Of my favorite things, one is the Retro Hugo Awards. Digging through treasures to find which ones were published in the proper year in order to nominate them is always a grand time!

The 2018 World Science Fiction Convention (Worldcon 76) announced the winners of the 1943 Retrospective Hugo Awards on August 16, 2018.


Beyond This Horizon, by Anson MacDonald (Robert A. Heinlein) (Astounding Science-Fiction, April & May 1942)


“Waldo,” by Anson MacDonald (Robert A. Heinlein) (Astounding Science-Fiction, August 1942)


“Foundation,” by Isaac Asimov (Astounding Science-Fiction, May 1942)


“The Twonky,” by C.L. Moore and Henry Kuttner (Astounding Science-Fiction, September 1942)


Bambi, written by Perce Pearce, Larry Morey, et al., directed by David D. Hand, et al. (Walt Disney Productions)


John W. Campbell


Virgil Finlay


Le Zombie, edited by Arthur Wilson “Bob” Tucker


Forrest J. Ackerman