Horror Writers Association logo

2017 Bram Stoker Award® Winners

Congratulations to the winners!

Superior Achievement in a Novel    Winner: Golden, Christopher – Ararat (St. Martin’s Press)
Superior Achievement in a Screenplay  Winner: Peele, Jordan – Get Out (Universal Pictures, Blumhouse Productions, QC Entertainment)
Superior Achievement in a First Novel  Winner: Cabeen, Robert Payne – Cold Cuts (Omnium Gatherum Media)
Superior Achievement in a Young Adult Novel  Winner: Liggett, Kim – The Last Harvest (Tor Teen)
Superior Achievement in a Graphic Novel    Winner: Duffy, Damian and Butler, Octavia E. – Kindred: A Graphic Novel Adaptation (Abrams ComicArts)
Superior Achievement in Long Fiction Winner: Jones, Stephen Graham – Mapping the Interior (Tor.com)
Superior Achievement in Short Fiction  Winner: Mannetti, Lisa – “Apocalypse Then” (Never Fear: The Apocalypse (13Thirty Books)
Superior Achievement in a Fiction Collection  Winner: Hill, Joe – Strange Weather (William Morrow)
Superior Achievement in an Anthology  Winner: Murano, Doug – Behold!: Oddities, Curiosities & Undefinable Wonders (Crystal Lake Publishing)
Superior Achievement in Non-Fiction      Winner: Hendrix, Grady. Paperbacks from Hell: The Twisted History of ’70s and ’80s Horror Fiction (Quirk Books)
Superior Achievement in a Poetry Collection  Winner: Sng, Christina – A Collection of Nightmares (Raw Dog Screaming Press)


2017 Bram Stoker Award® Winners



Penric's Fox cover

Review of Penric’s Fox

Review of Penric’s Fox by Lois McMaster Bujold

In the interests of full disclosure, I was sent an ARC of this novella by the publisher through NetGalley for review purposes. All my reviews, good, bad, or indifferent, are based on my own opinion and from my personal viewpoint. They are also spoiler free.

Lois McMaster Bujold is one of my all-time favorite authors and I will read anything she writes. That being said, she rarely disappoints.

This story of the World of the Five Gods starts with an attempt at relaxation which doesn’t last long. Penric and his associates are quickly involved in a murder mystery.

The investigation requires knowledge and skills from investigators, sorcerers, and shamans to resolve.

A lovely addition to the Penric tales.

It might be a bit difficult to enjoy as a stand-alone story without any background. I recommend you start at the first tale Penric’s Demon and catch up. It will be worth your time.

I give it 4 stars.

Amazon link

Penric's Fox
Lois McMaster Bujold

2018 Nebula conference site

2017 Nebula Award Finalists announced

Nebula Conference

Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America’s 52nd Annual Nebula Conference will be held in Pittsburgh, PA in 2018!

When: Thursday, May 17, 2018 at 1:00 PM – Sunday, May 20, 2018 at 4:00 PM (EDT)

Where: Pittsburgh Marriott City Center – 112 Washington Place, Pittsburgh, PA 15219


2017 Nebula Award Finalists