Coming towards you for Banned Book Week: the Complete Works of Nicholas Copernicus!

Though not found on most of today’s lists of banned books, Copernicus was featured on the Index Librorum Prohibitorum, or a “List of Prohibited Books” published by the Catholic Church starting in 1559 which was formally abolished in 1966. Naturally, most of the people featured on this list are now considered the foundations of modern sciences, including Kepler, Voltaire, Rousseau, Immanuel Kant, and Galileo (surprisingly, Darwin is not included).

Click the pictures to see them larger and for captions!

Copernicus dared to place the Sun—not Earth—at the center of the universe.

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.